Down The Western Ghats

2.jpgAs I descend the Deccan Plateau and enter the evergreen Western Ghats, passing through numerous streams flowing down, I know that I’m almost there – my grandparents’ house.  My trip to the beach town is what I look forward to every year.

3.jpgOne of the first memories of my grandparents are those of my grandfather bringing me tender coconut, and me sitting on the ‘katte’ in front of the house and enjoying the sweet coconut water.

4.jpg

I was fascinated when I found out that the house was made of mud. A 70 year old house of mud standing even now?!! The later additions to the core of the house was made of laterite – a unique material I saw only in my hometown.

5.jpg

This door gave my grandfather an unobstructed view of his Aracanut plantation and  he could enjoy the gentle breeze during his afternoon naps.

6.jpg

Considered to be the main entrance to the house, this wooden door is carved with leaves and flowers. A very different style of designs compared to what we see in other parts of Karnataka.

7.jpg

8.jpg

Large openings were a necessity to let the breeze into the living area, which is the most used space of the house.

9.jpg       10.jpg     Small yet strong windows, supporting the laterite above with wooden lintels.

11.jpgWatching the rain pouring outside while the water trickles down at the ends of the sloping roof.

12.jpg

Sloping roofs with at least a metre overhang is necessary to protect the house from the large amount of rainfall during monsoons.

13.jpg

One by one as the lights go off, the air is filled with the sound of insects and my grandmother’s stories.

A photo essay by Samaya Burde – peronal account of her observations on her trip to her hometown at Kumta, Karnataka

